Life’s a blurb…

Good evening, everyone! It’s been one of those weeks where my mind is working at 150 miles per hour and I just can’t help but feel the urge to write. Lucky for me though I have such an amazing bunch of followers who love my lovely little stories of how I got involved with writing or even blogging in the first place. (And bear with me, I’m doing this entire blog off of my phone.) 

So once upon a time, a very long time ago, I decided that my passion was writing. I loved the idea of telling stories and learning where others came from. When I met someone the first thing I wanted to know was who they were, what they loved, what they feared, and what made them…them. I remember this one time on the public bus on my way home with my mom (I grew up in what they call the “ghetto” of Hollywood and went to school in the Hollywood Hills), I had come across this young woman who had these magnificent tattoos. I was so mesmerized at these drawings that I had to ask her how she drew them on and all she could do was laugh. She later explained that the drawings were tattoos and that her tattoos told a story about her past. She said I wouldn’t understand now, but if I ever ran into her again once I got older she would tell me her story. I swear to you though that the moment my mother stopped her gossip with the usual women on the bus and realized who I was talking to, she ran me off that bus and told me to never talk to strangers again. That was the start of something great for me though. Now here I am sixteen years later.

Now that you have a little bit of background where my fascination with the art of story telling came from, I have a dilemma that I’ve been battling for years now. I know I want to write. I know I want people to hear my opinions and stories, but I’m not quite sure what median to go through. I know I have my blog and I will forever cherish the memories that I have with From Ashley to Ash, but let’s face it…blogging is not going to pay my bills. Yes, I am still currently working on two writing clips to submit to Her Campus. Yes, I am still an aspiring novelist in the generation that read books from a screen. Yes, I still have newspaper clippings from when I was on the student newspaper. I’m just not sure where I want to go with my life now. I was obsessed for the longest with becoming a feature writer for Alternative Press, but now my passion has grown from music to something bigger. What’s this “bigger”? I’m not quite sure yet. I have been inspired by Youtubers and social media activists though. People such as Anna Russett and Iskra Laurence are only two of so many that I receive inspiration from. I’ve looked into companies such as Fullscreen and websites such as Her Campus to realize that these are things I want to be involved in. I love music and I love the passion that artists have, the stories they tell, and everything it represents, but do I want to write others stories or write my own? 

I still don’t have the answer to my question and I’m sure you guys are all wondering why this crazy little blogger even decided to blog about any of this at all? It’s because I’m trying to show that even though I may seem 100% put together and that I’ve figured out my life, that I don’t. That I am vulnerable to change and opinion and the general world we live in. My goals in life change as this world changes and I love it. I love how everyday I wake up saying, “You know what. I’m going to try this today”. I love how uncharted my goals are in life and that even though I may not be where my life plan was four years ago, I’m happy with what I’ve accomplished thus far. 

I hope you all enjoyed my little word vomit episode and I hope you all tune in for the next blog, which will actually be in my health section. It’s about my skin care routine and what I typically like to do when I’m struggling with PMS and cystic acne. So yeah! If you made it this far, you got a little sneak peak. 

X’s and O’s, 

Ash. 

Leave a Reply

